

## Round Three Race Results

A cold night made for interesting racing at ACMS. Track trucks and tow trucks were a common site in street stock and thunder stock as conditions and aggressive driving led to an entertaining night for the fans who braved the cold. Pit crews were kept busy and will be busy in the shops repairing damage.Pro trucks and Minis put on a very entertaining night with big car counts and clean, fast, aggressive racing.

Thunder heat 1 saw the #81 being driven by Curtis Houben and the #49 of Mickey Pogoda get together on the front straight sending both cars to the pits. Both returned later in the evening however. The first heat was won by the #18 of Mike Rea.

Street heat 1 was a fast clean race with the #34 of Mike Schroeder winning followed by the #88 of Brad Wrennick and #44 of Craig Katelnikoff.

Pro Truck heat 1 saw a caution fly on lap 13 when the #3 of Harold Edwards slowed on the back stretch with apparent mechanical issues and the #14 of Wade Wohlford spinning to avoid a wreck. Andy Clewes driving the #8 truck showed his skill in avoiding collision at full speed. The #38 of Rick Kucher who was unofficially breaking track records in practice was the winner of heat 1.

A caution in Mini heat 1 as a result of #10 of Kevin Dyck and #00 of Curtis Regush fighting for space on the front straight saw the #00 machine come into the pits with severe toe in. This was the only mishap however which is incredible for a 20 car, 12 rookie field. The winner of heat 1 was the #62 of Kenny Heintz.

Thunder heat 2 started innocently enough until lap 12 when a wreck involving the #22 of Ryan Fredrickson and the #76 of Logan Derksen brought out the red flag due to its severity. When the dust and smoke settled, the rear tire of the #22 was lodged in the engine compartment of the #76, just the tire and wheel and the #22 was sitting on the frame on the track. Both cars may not see the track again this year. When the race resumed, the winner was the #18 of Mike Rea.

A rear bumper from the #44 Craig Katelnikoff machine laying on the track brought out the caution in street heat 2. This resulted in the #44 being sent to the back as a result. The #33 of Ryan Thompson and the #3 of Ron Eby fought for space on the front straight resulting in a flat tire for the #33 sending him to the pits. The #34 of Mike Schroeder takes the win of heat 2.

No cautions and a very fast heat 2 for the pro trucks with the #38 of Rick Kucher taking his second win of the night. Following closely was the #67 of Ken Ross and the #50 of Ben Pogoda.

Mini heat 2 saw a caution on lap 7 when #62 of Kenny Heintz and #20 of Audra Cooper decided to tangle. The remainder of the heat was trouble free with the #77 Vangool machine winning followed by the #7 of Darnell Schick and the #95 of Clay Wagner third.

The thunder feature was very entertaining with spins, cautions and lead changes between #18 Mike Rea and #81 Curtis Houben. A smart Mickey Pogoda stays in third watching the action ahead of her waiting to pounce if these two were to wreck. Not to be however as the battle was eventually won by Houben followed by Rea and the #1 car of Sheldon Bradlow sneaking in for third.

On lap 8 of the street feature, the #43 of Kevin Mclaggan and the #44 of Craig Katelnikoff tangled on the back straight sending Mclaggan spinning, collecting and losing one position in an amazing show of driving. Katelnikoff was sent to the back as his front bumper was now on the track bringing out the caution and leaving him bumperless. The 34 of Mike Schroeder comes out the winner with the #88 of Brad Wrennick second and the #36 of Darryl Potts taking third.

The pro truck feature was very exciting with back and forth lead change action which could of seen any one of 5 trucks win. No cautions flew and the very fast feature was won by the #67 of Ken Ross followed by the #27 of Scott Lucas narrowly edging out the #38 of Rick Kucher.

The mini feature also ran the entire 25 laps caution free and was very entertaining. The #95 of Clay Wagner who was very fast all night had the lead by lap 15 and held off hard charging #77 Vangool and #62 Kenny Heintz by inches. The #7 machine of Darnell Schick took 4th and the #1 of Scott Barrand 5th.

Next Saturday sees the first Dakota Dunes Super Late Model race and with 26 confirmed cars to date, should be very exciting. Also on the bill are the Super trucks who are always exciting and the Western Sportsman. Please note race time Saturday of 5pm.







